‘This Is It’: MJ Tribute Worth the Price

The Kenny Ortega Michael Jackson movie was well worth the admission price.

OK, I admit: I am a Jackson musical fan. That is partly why I enjoyed the documentary/music video. But even if you dislike the man, there is something fascinating in watching a man so obviously talented as a performer put together what would have been a fantastically creative show.

What comes through on celluloid is both Jackson’s eccentricity, his incredible energy, and his sincere wish to give his audience the performance of a lifetime. All that was inspiring enough for me to think, yep, he was still the reigning king of pop.

There is also something sober about watching the behind-the-scenes rehearsal knowing that Jackson is no longer living. I could sense a reverence in the movie theatre as the magic onscreen unfolded.

Whether you believe the film exploits MJ or brings out his true intent – and there are arguments for both – no doubt you would agree that losing someone so creative way before his time is truly sad. I mourn this loss.

— Laura J. Bagby

Leave a comment